Executive Committe of the CTC

The CTC Director is Paul Shellard, Professor of Cosmology. Malcolm Perry, Professor of Theoretical Physics, serves as Deputy Director. Managers within the CTC include John Barrow FRS, Professor of Mathematical Sciences and Nigel Peake, Professor of Applied Mathematics and Head of the Department of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics.

It was founded by Stephen Hawking, CH CBE FRS FRSA, formerly holder of the Lucasian Chair in Mathematics.

CTC draws heavily on its DAMTP faculty stakeholders in cosmology and gravitation (please see the People page).

CTC faculty and staff.

CTC staff

Scientific Advisory Committe of the CTC

Our external advisory panel counts the following scientists amongst its members:

James Hartle: Research Professor and Professor of Physics, Emertius at the University of California, Santa Barbara. He is also a member of the US National Academy of Sciences, a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and Founder and former Director of the Institute for Theoretical Physics at Santa Barbara.

Kip Thorne: The Feynman Professor of Theoretical Physics, Emeritus at the California Insitute of Technology (CalTech). He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, and a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the American Physical Society and the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Andrew Strominger: The Gwill E. York Professor of Physics and Director of the Centre for the Fundamental Laws of Nature at Harvard University.

Martin Rees, Baron Rees of Ludow OM FRS: Professor of Cosmology and Astrophysics, Emeritus and Master of Trinity College in the University of Cambridge. Lord Rees was President of the Royal Society between 2005 and 2010.