Structure of the CTC

The CTC exists as a research centre within the Department of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics (DAMTP) in the University of Cambridge. It was founded by Stephen Hawking, CH CBE FRS FRSA, formerly holder of the Lucasian Chair in Mathematics, in 2007. Our aim is to present new theories of our Universe which are both mathematically consistent and observationally testable. The executive of the CTC, made up of academics within the University, reports to our external Scientific Advisory Committee, who help steer the CTC through their leadership and guidance.

The CTC Director is Paul Shellard, Professor of Cosmology. Harvey Reall, Professor of Theoretical Physics, serves as Deputy Director. Managers within the CTC include Colm-Cille Caulfield, Head of the Department of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics.

CTC draws heavily on its DAMTP faculty stakeholders in cosmology and gravitation (please see the People page).

CTC faculty and staff.

Members of the CTC

Scientific Advisory Committee

Our external advisory panel consists of the following members:

Andrew Strominger: The Gwill E. York Professor of Physics and Director of the Centre for the Fundamental Laws of Nature at Harvard University.

Martin Rees, Baron Rees of Ludlow OM FRS: Professor of Cosmology and Astrophysics, Emeritus and Master of Trinity College in the University of Cambridge. Lord Rees was President of the Royal Society between 2005 and 2010.

Ruth Gregory is Head of the Department of Physics at King's College London. From 2005 to 2021 she was Professor of Mathematics and Physics at Durham University.

Thomas Hertog is a Professor of Theoretical Physics at KU Leuven in Belgium.

The following are former members of the scientific advisory committee:

James Hartle: Research Professor and Professor of Physics, Emeritus at the University of California, Santa Barbara. He is also a member of the US National Academy of Sciences, a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and Founder and former Director of the Institute for Theoretical Physics at Santa Barbara.

Kip Thorne: The Feynman Professor of Theoretical Physics, Emeritus at the California Insitute of Technology (CalTech). He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, and a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the American Physical Society and the American Association for the Advancement of Science.